Vaghudi is a village in the Zangezur uezd of the former Yelizavetpol (Ganja) governorate, later in the former Garakilsa (Sisian) district, and currently in the Syunik province. The provincial centre is located 95 km to the northwest of the town of Gafan, on the left bank of the Bazarchay, at a distance of 3 km from the village of Aghudi and at a height of 1,575 m above sea level. The settlement was integrated into the administrative area of Armenia after the establishment of the Zangezur uezd in Soviet Armenia on 31 August 1921. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus. There were three villages named Vaghudi: The First Vaghudi, the Second Vaghudi and the Third Vaghudi. The Vaghudi village was formed by merging those three villages.

The village was inhabited by 44 Azerbaijanis in 1831, 653 in 1873, 926 in 1886, 1,286 in 1897, 1,395 in 1908. The Azerbaijanis were first attacked, massacred or deported by Armenian armed groups in 1905. After the stabilization of the situation, the surviving inhabitants could return to their homes. The Azerbaijanis were massacred or displaced again by Armenians armed units in 1918. Following these incidents, Armenians were removed from abroad and settled in the village. After the establishment of Soviet power in the territory of Armenia, the Azerbaijanis could return to their village. Along with the Armenians, there lived 131 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 226 in 1926, 336 in 1931 and 700 Azerbaijanis in 1987. By the end of 1988, about 2,000 Azerbaijani inhabitants of the village were massacred or forced to flee by the state of Armenia. At present, the village is inhabited only by Armenians.

The name of the village was coined by adding “v-” to the beginning of the toponym “Aghudi”. The toponyms “Aghudi” and “Vaghudi” have the same semantic feature (see Aghudi).

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991, the village was renamed “Vaghatin”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Syunik province of Armenia.

Geographic coordinates: latitude 39°30’N., longitude 46°07’E.