Salut is a village in the Alexandropol uezd of the former Iravan governorate, in the former Gizil Goch (Ghukasyan) district, and currently in the Shirak province. The provincial centre lies 30 km to the northeast of the town of Gumru, at a height of 2,100 m above sea level. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

Initially, the village was inhabited by Azerbaijanis. According to the Treaty of Adrianople (1829), after the settlement of Armenians in the territory of the Iravan Khanate, the Azerbaijani population of the village moved to Türkiye.

The toponym was coined by adding the suffix “-ut” denoting plurality in Turkic to the Old Turkic ethnonym “Sal” which belongs to the Huns and means “the village of the Sal tribe”.

According to the law “On Administrative-Territorial Division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Shirak province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude 40°58’ N., longitude 43°56’ E.