Molla Dursun

Molla Dursun is a village in the Echmiadzin uezd of the former Iravan governorate, in the Uchkilsa (Echmiadzin, Vagharshapat) district, and currently in the Armavir province. The provincial centre lies 28 km to the northeast of the town of Serdarabad (Armavir), adjacent to the Abaran River, at a height of 940 m above sea level. It is marked in “The Iravan Province Comprehensive Data Book” compiled in 1590, on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

Until 1828 the village had been solely inhabited by Azerbaijanis. After the Treaty of Turkmenchay, the Armenians from the Salmas province of Iran and the Mush province of Türkiye were settled in the village in 1828–1829. The village was inhabited by 75 Azerbaijanis and 45 Armenians in 1831, 124 Azerbaijanis and 114 Armenians in 1873, 134 Azerbaijanis and 146 Armenians in 1886, 147 Azerbaijanis and 150 Armenians in 1897. At the beginning of 1918 the village was inhabited by 320 Azerbaijanis. In 1918 the village was exposed to aggression by Armenian armed forces and the Azerbaijanis were massacred or deported. The surviving Azerbaijanis who left the village managed to return to their ancestral lands following the establishment of Soviet power in present-day Armenia. Along with the Armenians, the village was inhabited by 14 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 14 Azerbaijanis in 1926, and 18 Azerbaijanis in 1931. In the 1940s, the Azerbaijanis living in the village were oppressed and deported. The first Azerbaijani family left the village in 1954. At present, the village is inhabited by Armenians.

The village was named after Molla Dursun, who built it.

The village was renamed “Shaumyan” after 1920. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative territory of the Armavir province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 40°12’ N., longitude: 44°17’ E.