Boyuk Jamishli

Boyuk Jamishli is a village in the Alexandropol uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Abaran district, and currently in the Aragatsotn province. The village was integrated into the former Alagoz (Aragats) district in 1972. The provincial centre lies 44 km to the northwest of the town of Ashtarak, on the bank of the Abaran River, and at a height of 2,050 m above sea level. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

The village was initially inhabited by Azerbaijanis. Following the Russo-Turkish war of 1877–1878, the Yazidi Kurds removed from Türkiye were settled in the village. Subsequently, the Azerbaijanis gradually left the village. The toponym was coined on the basis of the word “boyuk” denoting a distinguishing feature in Azerbaijani toponymy and the name of the Turkic tribe “Jamishli”.

The village was renamed “Alagyaz” by the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 4 January 1938. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative territory of Aragatsotn province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude: 40°40′ N., longitude: 44°17′ E.