Yarpizli is a village in the Novo-Bayazid uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Basarkechar (Vardenis) district, and currently in the Gegharkunik province. The provincial centre is located 65 km to the southeast of the town of Kavar (Gavar), on the shore of Lake Goycha and at a height of 2040 m above sea level. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

The village was inhabited by 121 Azerbaijanis in 1831, 398 in 1873, 465 in 1886, 584 in 1897, 719 in 1908, 815 in 1914, and 771 Azerbaijanis in 1916. In January 1919 the Azerbaijanis were massacred or ousted from the village by Armenian armed units and the village was set on fire. The village was inhabited by the Armenians who were removed from Iran in 1828- 1829 and from Turkish provinces of Kars and Mush in 1918–1920. After the establishment of Soviet power on the territory of present-day Armenia in 1920, the Azerbaijanis who survived were able to return to the village. Along with the few Armenians removed from Iran and Türkiye, 336 Azerbaijanis lived there in 1922, 419 in 1926, and 547 in 1931. According to the decision of the USSR Council of Ministers “On the Resettlement of Collective Farmers and Other Azerbaijani Population from the Armenian SSR to Kur-Araz Lowlands of the Azerbaijan SSR” dated 23 December 1947, the Azerbaijanis were deported to Azerbaijan between 1948 and 1950. However, a part of Azerbaijanis returned to Yarpizli later. For the third time, the Azerbaijani population of Yarpizli was completely deported from the village by the Armenian state in 1988. At present, the village is inhabited only by Armenians.

The toponym was coined by adding the suffix “-li” to the wild herbal name “yarpiz”. It is a phytotoponym.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 25 May 1967, the village was renamed “Lchavan”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Gegharkunik province of Armenia.

Geographic coordinates: latitude 40°09’N., longitude 45°36’E.