Uchkilsa district was established on September 9, 1930. The center of the district with an area of 379 km² was the city of Uchkilsa, which was subordinated to the republic. The distance from there to the city of Iravan is 20 km. The Abaran (Kasakh) river flows from the district center, and the Aras river flows along the border with Türkiye.

The territory of the district was included in Korpubasar and Sardarabad districts of the historical Iravan khanate, and during the period of Tsarist Russia, it was included in the Echmiadzin district of the Iravan governorate.

According to the administrative division of 1932, 52 villages of the Uchkilsa district was inhabited only Azerbaijanis. However, as a result of establishment and later abolishment of the Zangibasar district, Üchkilsa district had also undergone territorial changes.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated March 12, 1945, the name of the district was changed to “Vagarshapat”.

Since 1987, the native inhabitants of the district – Azerbaijanis were forced to leave their places of residence. In 1995, the district was abolished and included in the administrative territory of Armavir province of Armenia.