Soyudlu is a village in the Alexandropol uezd of the former Iravan governorate, in the former Aghin, (Ani) district, and currently in the Shirak province. The provincial centre lies 34 km to the south of the town of Gumru, on the left bank of the Garangu River, at a height of 1900 m above sea level.

According to the Treaty of Adrianople (1829), after the settlement of Armenians in the territory of the Iravan khanate, the Azerbaijani population of the village moved to Türkiye.

The toponym was coined on the basis of the ethnonym “Soyudlu” attributed to the Oghuz tribes.

By decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 2 March 1940, it was renamed “Sarnakhpyur”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Shirak province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude 40°31’ N., longitude 43°54’ E.