Oghurbeyli is a village in the Iravan uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Gamarli (Artashat) district, and currently in the Ararat province. The provincial centre lies 2 km to the northwest of the town of Gamarli, at the edge of the canal separated from the Garni River, at a height of 835 m above sea level. It is indicated as “Ughurbeyli” in “The Iravan Province Review Book”, as “Oghuzbeyli” on the five-verst map of the Caucasus. In the works of Armenian authors the name of the village is indicated as “Oghurbeyli”. The original inhabitants of the village were Azerbaijanis. Armenians were relocated to the village in 1829 from the provinces of Khoy and Salmas of Iran.

Along with the Armenians, the village was inhabited by 87 Azerbaijanis in 1831, 104 in 1873, 113 in 1886 and 110 Azerbaijanis in 1897. In 1918 the Azerbaijanis were deported having been exposed to the genocide committed by Armenian armed groups. After the establishment of Soviet power in the present-day Armenian territory, the surviving villagers were able to return to their homes. The village was inhabited by 23 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 27 in 1926 and 26 Azerbaijanis in 1931. According to the decision of the USSR Council of Ministers “On the resettlement of collective farmers and other Azerbaijani population from the Armenian SSR to the Kur-Araz lowland of the Azerbaijan SSR” dated 23 December 1947, the Azerbaijani population of the village was forcibly deported to Azerbaijan. At present, the village is inhabited by Armenians.

The toponym was derived from the words “Oghur” and “beyli, which indicates the name of the Oghuz Turkic tribe. The word “Oghur” at the beginning of the toponym reflects the ethnonym “Oghuz”. The words “Oghuz” and “Oghur “ denote the same meaning. “Oghur is the place where the Oghuz beys lived”.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 20 August 1945, the village was renamed “Berkanush”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Ararat province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude 39°59’ N., longitude 44°31’ E.