Molla Eyyublu

Molla Eyyublu or Evli is a village in the Borchali uezd of the former Tiflis governorate, later in the former Vorontsovka (Kalinino) district, and currently in the Lori province. The provincial centre lies 52 km to the northwest of the town of Boyuk Garakilsa (Vanadzor), at a height of 1,550 m above sea level. Until 31 December 1937, before the formation of the Kalinino district, it had been within the former Jalaloghlu (Stepanavan) district. Sources also indicate another name for the village to be “Novruz kharaba”.

The village was inhabited by 58 Azerbaijanis in 1886, 241 in 1897, 100 in 1908 and 127 Azerbaijanis in 1914. In March 1918 the Azerbaijanis were deported by Armenian armed forces and managed to return to their village following the establishment of Soviet power in present-day Armenia. The village was inhabited by 271 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 334 in 1926, 382 in 1931, 440 in 1939, 577 in 1959, and 738 in 1970 and 851 Azerbaijanis in 1979. In late 1988 and early 1989, the inhabitants of the village were completely deported from their historical lands by the Armenian government. Currently, the village is inhabited only by Armenians.

The toponym was coined on the basis of the ethnonym “Eyyublu” and means “a village belonging to a mullah from the Eyyublu tribe”. It is an ethnotoponym.

First, the village was renamed “Evli”, and then by decision of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991, this name was also changed and the village was called “Dzoramut”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, the village was integrated into the administrative territory of the Lori province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 40°11’ N., longitude: 44°17’ E.