Magharajik is a village in the Aghbaba area (nahiya) of the Kars uezd of the former Kars province, later in the former Amasiya (Aghbaba) district, and currently in the Shirak province. The provincial centre lies 23 km to the northwest of the town of Gumru, at a height of 1,860 m above sea level. The name of the village is marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus. In the works of Armenian authors, it is indicated that the inhabitants of the village were the Garapapags, one of the ethnographic groups of Azerbaijanis.

The village was inhabited by 309 Azerbaijanis in 1886, 375 in 1897, 480 in 1908 and 539 Azerbaijanis in 1914. The village was within the Southwest Caucasian Republic established in Kars in 1918–1919. In February 1920, as a result of the attack of Armenian armed groups, the village was destroyed, a part of its inhabitants moved to the Kars province, and another part to the provinces of Urmia and Salmas through the Iranian consulate in Gumru. After the Treaty of Kars in 1921, some inhabitants returned to the village. Following the establishment of Soviet power in present-day Armenia, the village was integrated into the Alexandropol uezd being within the Aghbaba area. The village was inhabited by 304 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 430 in 1926, 490 in 1931, 557 in 1959, 983 in 1970, and 925 in 1979 and 1,109 Azerbaijanis in 1987. At the end of 1988 and beginning of 1989, the Azerbaijanis were expelled from their historical and ethnic lands by the Armenian government. At present, the village is inhabited by Armenians.

The toponym was coined by adding the diminutive suffix “-jiq” to the word “maghara”, which implies “a wide hollow, a cave, extending into the mountains and rocks, or underground”.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991, the village was renamed “Gtashen”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative territory of the Shirak province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 40°55’ N., longitude: 43°43’ E.