Lambali is a village in the Borchali uezd of the former Tiflis governorate, later in the former Barana (Noyemberyan) district, and currently in the Tavush province. The provincial centre lies 73 km to the northwest of the town of  Karvansara (Ijevan), on the right bank of the Tona (Debed) River, at a height of 450 m above sea level.

The village was inhabited by 11 Azerbaijanis in 1831, 292 in 1886, 376 in 1897, 400 in 1908 and 493 Azerbaijanis in 1914. In 1918, as a result of the aggression of Armenian armed forces, the Azerbaijanis were expelled from their historical and ethnic lands. Following the establishment of Soviet power in Armenia, the Azerbaijanis managed to return to the village. The village was inhabited by 783 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 857 in 1926, 1,034 in 1931 and 1,289 Azerbaijanis in 1939. In accordance with the decision of the USSR Council of Ministers “On the resettlement of collective farmers and other Azerbaijani population from the Armenian SSR in the Kur-Araz lowland of the Azerbaijan SSR” dated 23 December 1947, the population was forcibly deported in the summer of 1949. An olive state farm was established in the village and the Armenians relocated from abroad were settled in Lambali. After a long struggle, most of the deported Lambali inhabitants managed to return to their native village. The village was inhabited by 1,151 Azerbaijanis in 1959, 2,000 in 1970 and more than 1,500 Azerbaijanis in 1987. In 1988 the Azerbaijanis were expelled and Armenians were settled in the village.

The toponym was coined by combining the word “lam” used to mean “a building typical for humid and rugged areas” and the word “pila/pala” (bali) used to mean “a plain, openness, open space”, “a narrow plain”.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 23 February 1972, the village was renamed “Bagratashen”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Tavush province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 41°14’ N., longitude: 44°49’ E.