Kochbak is a village in the Sharur-Daralayaz uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Pashali (Azizbeyov, Vayk) district, and currently in the Vayots Dzor province. It is located on the bank of the Kochbekchay River, the right tributary of the Jul, on the Pashali (Azizbeyov, Vayk)-Sisian highway, at a height of 2,025 m above sea level. It was mentioned as “Gochubey” in the “The Iravan Province Review Book”.

The village was solely inhabited by Azerbaijanis: 25 in 1831, 226 in 1873, 312 in 1886, 417 in 1897, 425 in 1904, 470 in 1914 and 537 Azerbaijanis in 1916. In 1918 the village was exposed to aggression by Armenian armed forces, and as a result of the massacres, the Azerbaijanis were expelled. Following the establishment of Soviet power in present- day Armenia, those, who had fled the village, managed to return to their ancestral lands. The village was inhabited by 103 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 179 in 1926, 365 in 1931 and 446 Azerbaijanis in 1939. In accordance with the Decision of the USSR Council of Ministers “On the resettlement of collective farmers and other Azerbaijani population from the Armenian SSR to the Kur-Araz lowland of the Azerbaijan SSR” dated 23 December 1947, part of the Azerbaijani population of the village was forcibly deported to Azerbaijan. Some of the deportees later returned to their native village. The village was solely inhabited by Azerbaijanis: 281 in 1959, 575 in 1970 and 579 Azerbaijanis in 1979. On 24-28 November 1988, 1,002 Azerbaijanis living in the village were deported by the direct order of the Armenian government. Currently, the village is inhabited only by Armenians.

The toponym is derived from the word “kosh” (koch) used in the Turkish language to mean “a camp, temporary residence of shepherds, country” and the word “bak” (bek) used in Old Turkic to mean “a hill” and means “a nomads’ settlement, camp, shepherd’s residence on a hill.”

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991, the village was renamed “Ughedzor”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative territory of the Vayots Dzor province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 39°41’ N., longitude: 45°40’ E.