Imirli is a village in the Echmiadzin uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Abaran district, and currently in the Aragatsotn province. The provincial centre lies 37 km to the northeast of the town of Ashtarak, on the left bank of the Abaran River, at a height of 1910 m above sea level. In their works Armenian authors indicate the name of the village as “Amirli”. Sources indicate that the village was established in the 17th century. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

Following the settlement of Armenians in the region, the Azerbaijani population of the village gradually left their lands.

The toponym was coined by adding the identifying suffix “-li” to the Oghuz ethnonym “Eymur”, and means “a village inhabited by the Eymurs (emirs)”. The name of the Oghuz tribe “Eymur” is also marked as “Imir”. It is an ethnotoponym.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 19 April 1950, the village was renamed “Ttujur”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative territory of Aragatsotn province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 40°34’ N., longitude: 44°27’ E.