Gullubulag is a village in the Shorayel area of the Kars uezd of the former Kars province, later in the former Amasiya (Aghbaba) district, which became a part of Armenia after the Kars agreement dated 1921, and currently in the Shirak province. The provincial centre is located 13 km to the northwest of the town of Gumru, at a height of 1,800 m above sea level. The population consisted only of Azerbaijanis. In order to differentiate Gullubulag in the area (nahiya) of Gizilgoch from the Gullubulag in the Aghbaba area, this village was written in official documents as “Turkic Gullubulag” or “Garapapag Gullubulag”.

The village was inhabited by 673 Azerbaijanis in 1886, 958 in 1897, 1,137 in 1914, 1,142 in 1926, 1,388 in 1939, 2,459 in 1970 and 2,580 Azerbaijanis in 1979. In 1987, 2,985 Azerbaijanis lived in the village. Until 1937 the population had been registered as Garapapags. The village was part of the Southwest Caucasian Republic established in Kars in 1918–1919. In February 1920, as a result of the attack of Armenian armed forces, the village was destroyed, part of the population moved to the Kars province, and another part to Urmia and Salmas provinces through the Iranian consulate in Gumru. According to the Treaty of Kars, in 1921 the village was integrated into Soviet Armenia as part of the area of Aghbaba. Following this process, some villagers returned to their homes.

The toponym was coined by combining the words “gullu” (flowery) and “bulaq” (spring). The inhabitants of the village were deported from Armenia in December 1988. At present, the village is inhabited mainly by the Armenians removed from the Georgian districts of Akhilkalak and Bogdanovka (Ninosminda).

By the decree of the President of the Republic of Armenia dated 4 July 2006, the village was renamed “Byurakn”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative territory of the Shirak province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 40°52’ N., longitude: 43°42’ E.