Goysu is a village in the Novo-Bayazid uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Basarkechar (Vardenis) district, and currently in the Gegharkunik province. The provincial centre is located 97 km to the east of the town of Kavar (Gavar), at a height of 2075 m above sea level. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

The village was inhabited by 187 Azerbaijanis in 1897, 233 in 1908, 360 in 1914, and 284 Azerbaijanis in 1916. In 1919 the Azerbaijanis were massacred or deported by Armenian armed forces. Following the establishment of Soviet power in the territory of present-day Armenia, in 1922–1924 the Azerbaijanis managed to return to their ancestral lands. The village was inhabited by 227 Azerbaijanis in 1926, 215 in 1931, 314 in 1939, 264 in 1959, 396 in 1970 and 531 Azerbaijanis in 1979. In 1988 the Azerbaijanis were expelled from their historical and ethnic homeland by the Armenian government again. At present, Armenians reside there.

The toponym was coined by combining the Azerbaijani word “göy” (the blue color) and the ancient Turkic word “su” meaning “a river”.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991, the village was renamed “Avazan”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Gegharkunik province.

Geographical coordinates: latitude: 40°18’ N, longitude: 45°42’ E.