Donuzyeyan or Donuzgiran is a village in the Iravan uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Zangibasar (Masis) district, and currently in the Ararat province. The provincial centre lies 21 km to the northwest of the town of Gamarli, on the left bank of the Zangi River, at a height of 830 m above sea level. It was mentioned as “Donuzyeyan” in “The Iravan Province Comprehensive Data Book” compiled in 1590, and as “Donuzpayan” in “The Iravan Province Review Book” dated 1728 and as “Donguzian” on the five-verst map of the Caucasus. In their works Armenian authors point out that the village was founded in 1712. In fact, the name of the village was registered as a “Donuzyeyan” settlement under the subordination of the Iravan area of the Iravan province in “The Iravan Province Comprehensive Data Book” compiled in 1590.

The village was solely inhabited by Azerbaijanis: 355 in 1831, 905 in 1873, 1,012 in 1886, 1,077 in 1897, 1,131 in 1908, 1,464 in 1914 and 864 Azerbaijanis in 1916. In 1918 the inhabitants of the village, who were exposed to the aggresssion of Armenian armed units, were deported, but managed to return to their homes following the establishment of Soviet power in the present-day Armenian territory. The village was inhabited by 399 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 493 in 1926 and 518 Azerbaijanis in 1931. The village was inhabited by 738 Azerbaijanis in 1939, 868 in 1959, 1,266 in 1970 and 1,472 Azerbaijanis in 1979, the Azerbaijanis constituted over 90% of the entire population of the village. In 1987 the number of the Azerbaijani inhabitants was 2,050. In November-December 1988 the inhabitants of the village were deported from their historical- ethnic territories by the Armenian state. At present, Armenians live there.

The toponym was formed by adding the participle “giran” to the name of an animal “donuz”.

The village was renamed “Zangilar” by the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 January 1935 and was further renamed and became “Zorak” by the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Ararat province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude: 40°05’ N., longitude: 44°23’ E.