Boyuk Mazra

Boyuk Mazra is a village in the Novo-Bayazid uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Basarkechar (Vardenis) district, and currently in the Gegharkunik province. The provincial centre lies 86 km to the southeast of the town of Kavar (Gavar), on the bank of the Mazra River, and at a height of 1,940 m above sea level. It was marked in “The Iravan Province Review Book”, on the five-verst map of the Caucasus. Another name for the village was Kaliaghali.

The village was inhabited by 293 Azerbaijanis in 1831, 956 in 1873, 1,379 in 1886, 1,652 in 1897, 1,842 in 1908, 1,970 in 1914, 1,792 in 1916 and 220 Azerbaijanis in 1919. After Armenian armed groups had attacked the village of Boyuk Mazra and massacred or deported its inhabitants from their historical land in March 1919, 572 Armenians were settled there in 1922. The surviving Azerbaijanis, who had left the village, managed to return to their ancestral land, following the establishment of Soviet power in the present-day Armenian territory. Along with the Armenians, the village was also inhabited by 572 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 594 in 1926, 867 in 1931 and 2500 Azerbaijanis in 1988. In November-December 1988 the Azerbaijanis were ousted from their own land by the state of Armenia with the participation of the Armenian inhabitants. At present, only Armenians live in the village. There is a 9th-century Alban historical monument in the village with a writing “The year of 881” on it. There is also an Oghuz cemetery by the village. All this testifies to the fact that historically, Azerbaijanis have lived there.

The toponym was coined on the basis of the Azerbaijani word “boyuk” and the word “mazra” used in Arabic in the sense of “a plowed land, a field sowed with seeds”.

It was renamed “Mets Masrik” By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Gegharkunik province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude: 40°13′ N., longitude: 45°46′ E.