Baligli is a village in the Kars uezd of the former Kars province, later in the former Amasiya (Aghbaba) district, and currently in the Shirak province. The provincial centre lies 42 km to the northwest of the town of the Gumru, on the northeastern shore of Lake Arpa, on the western bank of the Arpachay and at a height of 2030 m above sea level. Its relief is flat in the southern and northern parts, but hilly in the western and north-western parts. The village was founded in the late 18th – early 19th centuries. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

The village was inhabited by 205 Azerbaijanis in 1886, 326 in 1897, 372 in 1908 and 474 Azerbaijanis in 1914. The village was within the Republic of South- Western Caucasus which was established in Kars in 1918–1919. In February 1920 the village was devastated as a result of the Armenian armed forces’ attack, its population moved to the Kars province. Following the Treaty of Kars in 1921, a part of the inhabitants returned to the village. Following the establishment of Soviet power in the present-day Armenian territory, in accordance with the 1921 Kars Treaty, the village was integrated into the Alexandropol uezd within the structure of the Aghbaba area. The village was inhabited by 107 Azerbaijanis in 1922, 178 in 1926, 205 in 1931, 300 in 1964, 440 in 1970, 472 in 1979 and 432 Azerbaijanis in 1987. In November–December 1988 the inhabitants of the village were driven out from their historical-ethnic land by the state of Armenia. At present, the village is inhabited by the Armenians who have moved from Akhilkalak and Bogdanovka (Ninosminda) of Georgia.

The toponym was coined by adding the word-forming suffix “-lı” to the word “balıq” (in Azerbaijani: fish).

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 3 April 1991, the village was renamed “Zorakert”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative territory of the Shirak province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude: 41°05′ N., longitude: 43°39′ E.