Akhta district was established on September 30, 1930. The administrative center of the district with an area of 936 km² was the city of Akhta (Razdan). The distance from there to the city of Iravan is 50 km. Zangichay and its tributary Buyukchay flow through the territory of Akhta district.

The territory of the district was included in the Derechichek and Kirkhbulag districts of the Iravan khanate, and during the period of Tsarist Russia, it was included in the Novo-Bayazid district of the Iravan governorate.

The toponym was formed from the ethnonym “akhtachi” (axta), which is a branch of the padar Oguz tribes.

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated June 30, 1959, the name of the region was changed to “Hrazdan”.

Since 1987, the native inhabitants of the district – Azerbaijanis were forced to leave their places of residence. In 1995, the district was abolished and included in the administrative territory of Kotayk province of Armenia.