Aghyokhush is a village in the Novo-Bayazid uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Basarkechar (Vardenis) district, and currently in the Gegharkunik province. It is to the southeast of Lake Goycha, on the plain, at a height of 2100 m above sea level. In 1953 it was annexed to the Janahmad (Sultanali gishlaghi – winter pasture) collective farm.

The village was inhabited by 192 Azerbaijanis in 1831. However, as the village was abolished later, there is no data about the inhabitants in the village. Resources only indicate that 341 Azerbaijanis lived there in 1970. The inhabitants of the village were ousted by the Armenian state in 1988.

The toponym was coined by combining the word “agh” used in Old Turkic in the sense of “tall, high” and the word “yokhush” used in the sense of “the part of the road going up to the mountain, hill”, “the ascending place”. It is a toponym formed in association with the relief.

By decision of the Armenian parliament dated 4 July 2006, the village was renamed “Zariver”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Sunik province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude: 40°16’ N., longitude: 45°49’ E.