Aghbulag is a village in the Alexandropol uezd of the former Iravan governorate, later in the former Hamamli (Spitak) district, and currently in the Lori province. The provincial centre lies 39 km to the northwest from the town of Boyuk Garakilsa (Vanadzor), at a height of 1,800 m above sea level. It was marked on the five-verst map of the Caucasus.

The village was initially inhabited by Azerbaijanis, who gradually left it after the Armenians had been settled in the region.

The toponym was coined from the word “agh” meaning “of high quality, drinkable” and the word “bulag” (Azerbaijani: spring).

By the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Armenian SSR dated 26 April 1946, it was renamed “Lyusakhbyur”. According to the law “On the administrative-territorial division of the Republic of Armenia” dated 7 November 1995, it was integrated into the administrative area of the Lori province.

Geographic coordinates: latitude: 40°24′ N., longitude: 44°22′ E.